A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Home city guide administration in yavatmal

Administration at Yavatmal

Yavatmal town is the administrative heartland of the district of Yavatmal which lies in Vidharbha region in the eastern part of Maharashtra. For administrative ease the district is divided into five subdivisions – Yavatmal, Darwah, Pusad, Kelapur and Wani. It has 2117 villages, 1845 of which are inhabited. 
district map of yavatmal

Yavatmal city is also the economic capital of the district and all modern amenities, educational institutions, water authority and administrative command of the district are located here.

The Formation of Yavatmal District

The present day administrative setup of the Yavatmal district was essayed by the British. The Berar province, under which the region of Yavatmal was included, came under the east India Company in 1853. They divided the province in two halves – east and west Berar provinces. And the town of Yavatmal was passed to the east Berar region.

Another reorganization occurred in1864. The east Berar was further divided into a number of talukas including Yavatmal and the southeast Berar district was formed which later became Wani.
Today the Yavatmal district forms the tail piece to the Amravati division which in fact is the same Berar province as organized by the British. In total Yavatmal district has sixteen tehsils under it. They are; Arni, Umerkhed, Kalamb, Pandharkawada (Kelapur), Darwha, Digras, Ner, Ghatanji, Zari Jamani, Maregaon, Mahagaon, Ralegaon, Yavatmal, Akola Bazar and Wani.

Vidhan Sabhas Constituencies of Yavatmal

Yavatmal district has seven Vidhan Sabha constituencies in it.
  • Wani
  • Ralegaon
  • Yavatmal
  • Digras
  • Arni
  • Pusad
  • Umerkhed
Wani and Arni form the Chandrapur Lok Sabha constituency with Umerkhed forming part of the Hingoli Lok Sabha constituency. Yavatmal, Digras, Pusad, and Ralegaon, form the Yavatmal - Washim Lok Sabha constituency.

Yavatmal Police

The superintendent of police is at the helm of the law enforcement in the Yavatmal district. They are assisted by an additional SP. The district is divided into 5 sub divisions. Each subdivision consist 4 - 5 police stations and is headed by a Sub divisional officer of police.

Superintendent of police - Sh. Ranjan Sharma    
: 07232-242482
Fax No.: 07232-256710
E-mail: sp.yavatmal@mahapolice.gov.in

You may also like to visit

Major Cities You Must Know

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries